Meet Jen!

Hi everyone!

I am so excited to be here, and starting up my newest blog. I’ve finally taken the leap, and decided to become a birth doula! This has been a large part of my journey in 2016 was my certification process. I have one more birth to attend and then a final exam to write, and I will be fully certified!

So why did I become a doula in the first place?

What an exciting question! When I was in labor with my daughter, I was informed that she was breech. Butt down and feet up by her chin. I was also told that she was going to be at least 10 lbs. Then the doctor dropped the bombshell. I was going to have to have a C-section. I had spent 35 weeks planning to have a natural birth, and here I was being told that I am going to have to have a surgical birth.

I started to cry. Then, the part that sparked my fire for birth and breastfeeding, a nurse leaned into my ear while I was having a contraction, told me to stop being a child and get on with it. She then informed me that if my baby was going to be born vaginally, her head would be stuck and they would have to break her neck or cut her head off to get her out!!

I was absolutely horrified. I was very scared, and very young, and alone with my husband and best friend, neither of whom had had a baby before. I was taken to surgery, and my daughter was born a few minutes later. She was beautiful. She was perfect.

And then she wasn’t. When I finally got to hold her in the recovery room, she turned blue. She was whisked away, and a slew of medical interventions began to save my daughter’s life.

Now, she is a beautiful 13 year old girl. We were very lucky to have her back with us, and life moved on.

I started researching birth shortly after my daughter’s first birthday. I read everything I could get my hands on. And then things sort of stalled out for me. I got a divorce. My daughter was diagnosed with autism, and my life got very busy.

In 2012, I was preparing to have my son. I was newly married, living in my own home, and things were wonderful. We had a doula at our birth, and she was amazing. I was fascinated with the life of a doula after that, and very quickly decided that this was what I wanted to do.

My husband, Anthony, encouraged me to pursue it. I had some major health issues between me and taking a training. When I was finally ready, it felt like an electric jolt of positive energy shot through me. When I took my training, I felt like I was floating on air! My first birth as a doula was absolutely magical. I know now that this is what I am meant to be doing with my life, and I can not wait to share my knowledge and skills with more parents!

 

Leave a Reply

